No graduation ceremony

Lauren Kittle
2 min readMay 21, 2020

Feelings from a soon-to-be college graduate

Photo by Terrence Thomas on Unsplash

I never thought graduation was going to be such a big deal.

I never had dreams about my graduation day. I thought it would be another thing I checked off the list. I thought graduation was just something I would do.

But I would have never anticipated it to be taken away.

Now that it is taken away my mind is filled with visions of walking across the stage as they say my name. Squeezing my mom so tight, both of us with tears in our eyes knowing that hard work has paid off. The moments of me looking for my friends and classmates. Me wanting to tell them that I couldn’t have done it without them.

Now my chapter feels as if it can not be closed.
What about my goodbyes?

What about my professors who have been my cheerleaders? The professors who have guided me through the last four years of my life. It’s disheartening that I can’t shake their hands. I need to thank them properly for the hard work they put into my life and so many others.

What about my friends that I don’t get to hug one last time. What about our tears of joy knowing that we just accomplished something huge. What about the imaginary trips we would’ve planned to go visit each other. What about our final moments together before everything we knew for the last four years gets flipped upside down.

What about my parents? Not only is there no celebration for my accomplishments, but no celebration for theirs either. Through the long nights, the days I wanted to come home and abandon my dreams, the calls to them crying. They deserve graduation, even more than I do.

Not having college graduation is like reading three-fourths of a book, then ending.

Not having college graduation is like having a bad break-up and never getting closure.

Not having college graduation is like leaving a chapter of your life open but knowing you have to move on.

--

--